This ‘n’ that

Just one of those random musing posts – not a lot of running been going on recently. Partly that’s work, I didn’t get home on either Tuesday or Thursday in time to get out again to club night. I could have run Monday, but it rained and on Wednesday we had the supermarket delivery. See, I’m nothing but excuses…

However, I have been thinking about running. I seem to have “volunteered” to give a talk about running my first marathon to the local library friends group. oh dear. I’m currently wondering how to structure this and what to say. I can guess that the most likely question is going to be “Why did you do it?” I think I know, but it’s gone a bit vague through the mists of time, possibly it seemed like a good idea at the time. I remember passing a lady dressed as a carrot at Silverstone half and saying “That looks like an idea born in the pub” and she agreed – she wasn’t looking too happy at that point! If any one out there who’d care to reply with an answer it might help give a view of the range of reasons for wanting to put yourself through something that, realistically, the body isn’t really designed to do!

Then there’s this: link. You get to run 3.2 km, then eat 3 (yes, three) Krispy Kreme doughnuts before running the remaining 2k to make a 5k that’s definitely different! It should be right up my street, combining running and eating, but I’m not sure I could manage 3 Krispy Kreme doughnuts at all, let alone then run 2k afterwards. They’re far too sweet – and that from someone who has a monumentally sweet tooth! I do wonder how many might get a repeat airing…

Anyway, tomorrow is Sunday and I will be getting the trainers out the bag again – last week’s nice warm weather appears to have gone again, so it should be a nice temperature for running. See, always looking on the bright side!

Leave a comment